Composure

Los Angeles leads the world in haze, mirrors and freeways.

Fame is a drug on prescription all the hours of the 24.

Atheists disguised as clowns perform at children’s parties.

Fortune tellers lay in wait for customers at Farmers’ Markets.

Repeatedly I am invited by strangers to a church by the name of Agape.

Agape translates from the Greek as… selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love, the highest of the four types of love in the Bible.

Oh well, still I have a ways to go before I reach Agape.

I take my guitar and my speculative script to the pharmacy all the hours of the 24.

With a slow burning heart
I drive to the pharmacy with my guitar,
All the hours of the 24.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elizawyatt
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 16:18:16

    You got me going, nearly got in the car on the wrong side
    and what about the light you’ve got out there? AND I
    don’t think you’ve got that far to go with AGAPE

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,004 other followers

