Late Night Thoughts on the Eaton Center Shooting

On June 2, 2012, Jessica Redfield narrowly escaped being shot and killed when a gunman opened fire in a food court in Toronto, Canada where Jessica had gone to eat a sushi meal.

Soon after this tragic incident, Jessica moved to Colorado. On July 20, 2012, Jessica was one of the 12 people shot dead by James Holmes in the mass shooting in Aurora, Colorado. Is my (or your) understanding sufficient enough to explain these events?

In prayer I offer up this quote from J. Krishnamurti: “We are going to see for ourselves if we can come upon a state of mind that is always in meditation. To lay the foundation for that meditation one must understand what is living, living and dying. The understanding of life and the extraordinary meaning of death is meditation.”

Rest in peace, Jessica Redfield.

A Run On of Thoughts

I can’t get this odd feeling out of my chest. This empty, almost sickening feeling won’t go away. I noticed this feeling when I was in the Eaton Center in Toronto just seconds before someone opened fire in the food court. An odd feeling which led me to go outside and unknowingly out of harm‘s way. It’s hard for me to wrap my mind around how a weird feeling saved me from being in the middle of a deadly shooting.

What started off as a trip to the mall to get sushi and shop, ended up as a day that has forever changed my life. I was on a mission to eat sushi that day, and when I’m on a mission, nothing will deter me. When I arrived at the Eaton Center mall, I walked down to the food court and spotted a sushi restaurant. Instead of walking in, sitting…

View original post 951 more words

One thought on “Late Night Thoughts on the Eaton Center Shooting

  1. None of us know what life has in store for us. In the west / north we tend not to qualify our plans. We’ll say ‘…see you on Saturday then.’ But in the south such a statement would always be qualified by ‘Insha’Allah’ or in krio ‘by god in power in Ghana where I’m writing from ‘by god’s grace’.
    For me this is not so much a caution that ‘god will decide’ but more a reminder that our lives are ephemeral, we have a certain time on earth. We can’t take it for granted, we should cherish it, so many quotes come to mind: “if you know what life is worth then look for yours on earth” Bob Marley. “No condition is permanent” my favourite Nigerian ‘catch all’, “plan like you are going to live forever but live like you are going to die tomorrow” “when your time is up, your time is up.” my London roots.
    Indeed RIP Jessica Redfield – for the rest of us let’s just remember that tomorrow is the first day of the rest of our lives, so let’s cherish it!

    And as reminded by Expat Alien (http://expatalien.com/) the other day: “from the Dalai Lama:

    Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.
    If you can, help others; if you cannot do that, at least do not harm them.
    If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion.
    It is very important to generate a good attitude, a good heart, as much as possible. From this, happiness in both the short term and the long term for both yourself and others will come. ”

    Alhamdulillah, Thank God and thank your lucky stars! One love.

Leave a Reply

