22 thoughts on “The A-List

  1. I was appreciate what you have to say, but in this case I have to say there must be a word better than appreciate to express my response. Not only have you communicated something poignant and meaningful, and that it seems impossible to believe you haven’t suffered consequences from, but you presented as an opportunity to learn without judgment. You are truly beautiful of mind and heart.
    Alex

    • Alex, your words are filled with such grace and sensitivity. I am so moved that you care to write in this way. I cherish you for your understanding and the beauty in your own mind and heart. Thank you with all my heart! Michele

  2. I don’t think it’s possible to actually imagine what it’s like to be a different race, gender, nationality or even a different person.Those are things we ARE. We would just be making things up from the perspective that we hold right now, which would come from who WE currently are. I can’t imagine being a billionaire and that has nothing to do with race, gender or nationality. We might think all kinds of things about what it’s like to have that money but the reality of it, would probably be quite different from our expectations. Kids/people fantasize about their latest idol but they have no idea what their lives are like. I don’t think we can ever understand what it’s like to be ANYONE else. If we could…the world might be a different place. Maybe men would stop beating and raping women. Maybe they would stop raping and beating their kids, if they knew how they felt. Maybe people would stop stealing, hating, and all the “isms,” would just disappear, IF we could only imagine what someone else felt. I just don’t think it’s possible. You would have to actually BECOME the other person, with all the memories and experiences, in order to understand any part of that kind of reality.

  3. It’s tempting to imagine, but it would be trite to do so. Fact is we are what we are.
    However, your very poignant piece does force us to recognise an essential truth. There are far more poor downtrodden people on the earth than is morally acceptable. I wish you beautiful thoughts. Joe

    • Joe, thank you for your insight. I agree wholeheartedly with the need to recognise an essential truth about injustice. Also, in the comments thread I have touched upon my childhood experience of imagining myself with a different skin colour. As I’ve explained elsewhere… seeing myself “differently” felt like the only way I could survive. Those extreme days are behind me now, but as a documentary filmmaker, my work is really a continuation of the strong need to see the world with a different set of eyes. In 1992, one of my first jobs for the BBC was reporting on the break-up of the Soviet Union. That experience changed my life and offered me a blueprint for a brighter future…. Thank you again and have a wonderful day. Blessings and peace. Michele

  4. I can say here that for years I was led to believe I originated from one skin colour but in fact this was a lie but as fas as I am concerned now I am still the same ‘me’ whether multi-coloured or bland so consider myself ‘perfect’ but because I now know the truth many of my mannerisms and interests make sense.. Oh yes and I do feel elated and happy from inside out most of the time. A-List I’m not sure of the meaning?

    • I am so touched by your words. You have led an extraordinary life and your wondrous journey is still unfolding. Thank you for sharing your experiences here. I bless your elation and happiness. My life experience resonates with transiting from one skin colour to another… as a black adopted child raised by white parents. In my high school I was the only black kid in a school of 1,600 white students. Imaging myself with a different skin colour was something akin to a survival technique. There were several years when I covered my face with talcum powder to “white” myself up! Thankfully, I don’t do that anymore! “The A-List” was inspired by the life of Martin Luther King. What does A-List mean… literally, the most bankable stars in Hollywood. Peace and blessings to you. Michele

  5. If I imagine myself in a different skin color, or different gender, or different sexual orientation,
    but fail to imagine how this immediately changes how I’m treated,
    then it is not a failure of imagination.
    It is a failure of seeing.

    • As always, your thoughts resonate and inspire me. Thank you. The ‘A-List’ was inspired by this quote by Martin Luther King, “We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.” Have a blessed day and thank you so much for following my blog. Michele x

  6. in the winter so I am pale white like a whitewashed wall and in the summer I’m brown after that had short time with a reddish glow – but I see no skin color better or worse than others – either for myself or others – quality is in my eyes – not skin color , religion, language or anything fourth – but something between the ears of us…😉😉

  7. I’m reminded of John M Perkins. He said, “Love is the final fight.” Took me a while to understand that.

    I’m not good at interpreting art. I’m more a realist, who’d say “Give me a diagram!”
    When I see your picture, I see it in two ways.

    On one hand, the glow around your finger forces me to see through your skin.

    On the other hand, your skin obstructs something beautiful.

    Good picture, but greater writing, Michele.

  8. Thought provoking!
    Knowing what I know now, I think that if I had a choice, the color I would choose depends on which color would more experience and see in life the great power and glory of God operating on their behalf.
    “How rich is the wisdom of God!”

  9. Thought-provoking words.
    Many years ago, in Kenya, I found myself in a street, looking for the market where someone had told I would find some fabric I wanted to bring back to Paris. Soon I realized that I was the only woman and the only white person on the street. Nobody said anything to me, I didn’t feel in danger yet I felt out of place, observed. I had never felt so different and there was nothing I could do about it. It occured to me then that my feelings were probably the ones people of color experienced on a daily basis. I lived in a very diverse part of Paris back then and thought I knew about race and diversity. That day shook my beliefs.

Leave a Reply

